The CIMA Qualification

About CIMA

Established in 1919, CIMA is now the world’s largest leading professional body of management accountants. CIMA members and students work in a variety of roles including in industry, commerce and not for profit organisations.

In 2017, members of CIMA and AICPA formed the Association of International Certified Professional Accountants to unite and strengthen the accounting profession globally. This represents an influential network of more than 650,000 members and students in management and public accounting around the world.

Together with AICPA, CIMA established the Chartered Global Management Accountant (CGMA) designation which provides members with an extensive level of resources and recognition.

On completion of the CIMA qualification and becoming a CIMA member, you will be automatically entitled to use the CGMA designation as well as the CIMA designation.

To qualify as a Chartered Management Accountant you must:

  • complete the CIMA Certificate in Business Accounting or another exempting qualification
  • complete the nine exams and 3 case studies in the CIMA Professional Qualification
  • gain three years relevant practical experience.

CIMA E1 Managing Finance in a Digital World

  • Role of the finance function
  • Technology in a digital world
  • Data and information in a digital world
  • Shape and structure of the finance function
  • Finance interacting with the organisation

CIMA E2 Managing Performance

  • Business models and value creation
  • Managing people performance
  • Managing projects

CIMA E3 Strategic Management

  • The Strategy process
  • Analysing the organisational ecosystem
  • Generating strategic options
  • Making strategic choices
  • Strategic control
  • Digital strategy

Are you ready?

We serve some of the world’s leading organizations